Switzerland Travel Diary

Zurich was the final stop in my Europe trip and it was the perfect end. Most of the cities I had been to were big cities with lots of attractions and were full of hustle and bustle, but the Old Town of Zurich was the perfect mix of beautiful scenery and a relaxing atmosphere. It was so interesting and mesmerizing to see the clear mix of German and French influences in the buildings and restaurants, and the people were so pleasant and polite.


We arrived at Zurich pretty late so we stopped for dinner at Zeughauskeller. Of course, I had to try weiner snitchel for the first time, and it was so delicious! For dessert we had try Swiss chocolate so we bought some at Conditorei Péclard im Schober (Cafe Schober).  The little shop was absolutely adorable! It had an old French vibe with beautiful old school decor and a large, old, silver register in front. You could tell they put so much thought into their presentation and had a variety of beautiful boxes and different colored ribbons that you could pick and choose from to complete the cutest box of chocolates. I also got a box of chocolates from Spruengli’s, which is a popular chain chocolate shop, and I have to say they were my absolute favorite chocolates ever!
The next day happened to be Whit Monday so almost all the shops were closed which was a let down because I wanted to do a little more shopping before heading back home. I also want to go up to Lucerne to see the mountains, but we got super unlucky with the dreary, rainy weather. So we decided to take a ferry boat around the lake which was so nice and relaxing, and we ordered some lunch on the boat as it whisked past the beautiful and quaint houses and towns. Afterwards, we stopped to get a pretzel which we ate by the water while watching the swans and ducks swim by. We walked down the picturesque, cobblestone streets as the church bells rang and overall, it was such a peaceful and lovely day.


While I didn’t get to do everything I had wanted to, I’m so grateful I got a chance to experience and take in the whimsical and charming old town of Zurich.

Hope you enjoyed!

xx.   Aurela

26 thoughts on “Switzerland Travel Diary

  1. I have never been to Switzerland before and haven’t even considered it to be honest. It looks so nice there though and you got smashing pictures 😄. I’m glad you enjoyed your trip 😄.
    On a side note, have you promoted your blog in any Facebook groups before? I have just created my own called Blogs In Bloom- I would love to have you as a member 😄. I have a blog post about it if you need more information. Thank you 💕
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/1894424554140611/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

