Cheers!

img_1149

I can’t believe how quickly this year has gone by. Looking back at all the good and bad that came with 2016, I can’t help but be grateful for it all. Whether it’s a good situation that reminds you how lucky you are or a bad situation that helps you grow and become better, this rollercoaster of a year has taught me so much. After looking back at last year’s resolutions and comparing it to my current goals, I’ve finally come up with my New Year’s resolutions.

1. Spend time with my parents. As I grow older I sometimes forget that they’re growing older too, so this year I want to really appreciate the time I spend with them and not get too absorbed in my own life to forget them.

2. Spend time with my little brother. Every time I come home from college he’s a little taller, a little smarter, and a lot more smart-mouthed. Because we have such a big age gap, seeing him grow before my eyes reminds me how fast the years go by, so this year I hope to slow everything down a bit and remember to keep up with loved ones.

3. Be kinder to my body. With my hectic schedule at school, it’s hard to remember to eat healthy and find time to exercise regularly. This year I’m going to set a strict schedule for myself by using my planner to write down the workouts I will be doing each day at a designated time. I’ll also start creating a mindful grocery list at the beginning of each week that includes healthy options that I can grab on the go.

4. Get out of my comfort zone. This past year I felt like I was in a constant rut and that routine had taken over my life. So for the next year I want to take new routes to class, eat at different places, talk to different people, and most importantly, not be afraid of doing things a little differently. I want to learn to be more scared of routine than of the unknown.

5. Purge the negativity. There are so many things that expose me to negativity like people, spaces, social media, and news, amongst others. This year I want to make everyday a little lighter by removing all the heavy negative things that weigh us down.

6. Because I want to gain motivation this year, I want to write out my goals and spend a couple minutes each day reflecting on them. This way they are fresh in my mind so that the actions I take each day are intently done with these goals.
While the holidays and the year are winding down to a bittersweet end, I’m hopeful that the new year will bring more love, cheer, and good company (and champagne!) into our lives.

Cheers to the new year!

Leave a Reply

